Whole Story

The Official Whole Foods Market® Blog

 

72 Comments

Comments

Christin says ...
Your blog post, “Vegan Cane Sugar | Whole Foods Market” was indeed very well worth writing a comment on! Simply needed to admit you did a fantastic work. Thank you ,Harry
01/05/2013 12:06:19 PM CST
Dorie LaRue says ...
I am looking for a coffee "creamer" such as made from soy, almond, or coconut, without sugar. I like it to be creamy and whiten the coffee. I am trying to give up Cremora, a nondairy with casein in it nevertheless.
01/24/2013 10:45:04 AM CST
Samantha says ...
Is the organic cane sugar not vegan? it says "Steam" is used to wash the crystals and "no de colorizers" are used.
01/26/2013 1:13:41 PM CST
Nikki - Community Moderator says ...
@SAMANTHA - All of our 365 sugars are vegan. The packaging will be updated once they use the current packaging to display a vegan logo on the back of the product.
01/28/2013 3:07:17 PM CST
Payal Shah says ...
This is great! Is all brown sugar vegan?
04/03/2013 6:16:14 PM CDT
Nikki - Community Moderator says ...
@PAYAL - Not all sugar is vegan. You can be assured that all of our 365 sugars are in fact, vegan.
04/04/2013 3:00:20 PM CDT
Kenneth says ...
I found Zulka Morena pure cane sugar Www.zulka.com 100% non HMO non refined sugar at Walmart for 2.98 for 4 lb package.
04/28/2013 5:12:15 PM CDT
J says ...
Are your baked goods, that are labeled Vegan, made with vegan sugar. The ingredients list only says "sugar"
06/13/2013 8:42:46 PM CDT
Nikki - Community Moderator says ...
@J - If the items are labeled as vegan, they will be made with vegan sugar. If the goods are made in the store, our bakeries typically use our 365 sugar and all of our 365 sugars are vegan.
06/14/2013 12:33:28 PM CDT
Deanna Herrera says ...
When packages say organic sugar or organic can sugar, how do we tell if it is vegan/
08/10/2013 4:20:53 PM CDT
Nikki - Community Moderator says ...
@DEANNA - Unless the product is labeled as vegan there is no way of telling if the sugar in the ingredient list is vegan or not. If the entire product is labeled vegan, then the sugar used must be vegan as well.
08/12/2013 12:46:28 PM CDT
Ambere Wright says ...
Could you tell me, Demerara sugar and Organic brown sugar, is that not also vegan or does it also go through a bone char process? Thanks
11/03/2013 7:54:35 PM CST
Nikki - Community Moderator says ...
@AMBERE - It really depends on the sugar vendor but most sugars are filtered through bone char. I would check with the vendor directly if you have questions about the sugar being vegan.
11/04/2013 3:23:20 PM CST
peny says ...
How about the confectioner's sugar and the brown sugar in the 365 Everyday Value line?
11/14/2013 3:21:45 PM CST
Nikki - Community Moderator says ...
@PENY - Since this post was published, all of the 365 sugars we sell are also vegan.
11/14/2013 4:48:16 PM CST
sara says ...
i have a question that is : is a kosher sugar is also vegan? and i want to know if there is bone -char in the final sugar that we eat or it is just used to whitening the sugar? thank you
11/14/2013 6:01:49 PM CST
Nikki - Community Moderator says ...
@SARA - There is not any bone char left in the sugar, it's just a filter. There can be Kosher processing for sugar but it will vary between brands. You can always check for the Kosher symbol on the package.
11/20/2013 4:45:53 PM CST
Mary Ann says ...
Thanks. Please put this important information on the packaging.
11/26/2013 11:11:02 AM CST
Denise says ...
Loved this article, who knew:)
12/09/2013 12:35:40 PM CST
KEENA says ...
It's really disturbing that food manufacturers will use any means necessary for production...as long as it's cheap. Where are the ethics?!
02/03/2014 12:07:21 PM CST
ET says ...
I'm using this vegan sugar to make rock candy with my daughter, and have two questions: 1. What are the larger tan bits in this sugar? Are they larger crystals that did not turn white? 2. Once our sugar-saturated water solution boiled, it turned yellow. It was supposed to turn clear. Is this due to the above impurities? Thanks for letting me know, I want to make sure it is safe to eat with whatever those tan bits are.
02/23/2014 10:21:12 PM CST
Nikki - Community Moderator says ...
@ET - White, granulated sugar goes through quite a bit of processing and I would guess vegan sugar -- because the purification process is different (no bone char), impurities are likely. Vegan sugar uses carbon in the decolorization process……so it should be nice and white. It's possible the darker colored pieces were just coated in a bit of molasses, hence the darker color of the candy.
03/04/2014 5:39:42 PM CST

Pages