Dairy-Free Shopping at Whole Foods Market
Some people who avoid dairy are allergic to the dairy proteins themselves and must avoid all dairy products, including milk, cheese, butter, cream cheese, cottage cheese, sour cream, ice cream, whey and casein. Others avoid dairy because they lack the enzyme lactase, which digests milk sugar, lactose. People who are lactose-intolerant may choose to eliminate or reduce lactose-containing dairy products from their diet. There are many dairy substitutes available for those who need to avoid dairy products. Please note that dairy free is not the same as egg free.
Check for Hidden Sources
Dairy ingredients come in many different forms, several with names more difficult to pronounce than "milk." The important thing is to be able to recognize them when they appear on a label. Look for: curds, whey, ghee, casein, rennet, lactose, lactulose, whey and casein hydrolysates, lactalbumin and lactoglobulin.