Gluten Free

It’s easier than ever to maintain a gluten-free lifestyle with the wealth of available information, products and support. Learn more about:

Gluten-Free Shopping at Whole Foods Market

Each of our stores has an extensive selection of gluten-free items. Browse a list of the gluten-free products available at your local Whole Foods Market. 

Of course, products are subject to availability and ingredients may change. Always be sure to read labels and check with the manufacturers. We have made every effort to be as accurate as possible; however, we cannot be held responsible for individual reactions to or cross-contamination of certain products. The information provided here is for educational purposes only and should not be construed as medical advice. We are always adding to our product selection, so you may see items on the shelves that aren’t on this list – explore!

Gluten and Celiac Disease

Most people who need to avoid gluten have celiac disease, a chronic digestive disorder in which individuals who ingest gluten experience an immune response. (Gluten is defined as the mixture of protein fragments, called peptide chains or polypeptides.) There is no cure for celiac, though people who have it can manage the disease by following a gluten-free diet. (Learn more about the causes, symptoms and diagnosis of celiac disease by visiting the Celiac Disease Foundation, Celiac Support Association, WebMD’s Celiac Disease Center or the Mayo Clinic’s Celiac Disease pages.)

There are also many people who do not have celiac disease but subscribe to a gluten-free diet, perhaps due to wheat sensitivity or by choice. Whatever your reason for following a gluten-free diet, the best way to avoid it is to know where it hides.

Primary Sources of Gluten

  • Wheat (including semolina, durum, spelt, triticale and KAMUT® khorasan wheat)
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Oats (Oats don’t naturally contain gluten, but are often subject to contamination with small amounts of it, so many gluten-intolerant people avoid them. Packaged oats labeled gluten-free are available on our shelves, so look for those if you are avoiding gluten.)

Hidden Sources of Gluten

These ingredients and additives can include gluten, but sources must be carefully scrutinized. For example, modified food starch from corn is considered gluten-free, so long as no wheat starch is included. Apple cider vinegar is acceptable, but malt vinegars (sourced from barley) may contain gluten. If you’re unsure, check the labels or contact the manufacturer for detailed production information.

  • Binders
  • Blue cheese
  • Bouillon cubes abd broths
  • Brown rice syrup (if barley malt enzyme is used)
  • Buckwheat flour and soba noodles (if combined with wheat)
  • Caramel coloring (made from barley malt enzymes)
  • Coatings
  • Colorings
  • Condiments
  • Dextrins
  • Dispersing agents (i.e., cellulose, citric acid)
  • Emulsifiers
  • Excipients (added to prescription medications to achieve desired consistency)
  • Extracts (in grain alcohol)
  • Fillers
  • Flavorings (in grain alcohol)
  • Flours, breads, cereals, crackers, pasta, sauces and condiments made with the primary gluten source grains or their derivatives
  • Grain alcohol (beer, ale, rye, scotch, bourbon, grain vodka)
  • Homeopathic remedies
  • Hydrolyzed protein, hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP), hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
  • Malt or malt flavoring (barley malt)
  • Miso
  • Modified starch, modified food starch (when derived from wheat)
  • Mono-and diglycerides (made using a wheat-starch carrier)
  • Oils (wheat germ oil and any oil with gluten additives)
  • Preservatives
  • Soy sauce (when fermented using wheat)
  • Spices (if contain anti-caking ingredients)
  • Starch (if primary source is gluten-containing grains)
  • Vegetable gum (when made from oats)
  • Vegetable protein
  • Vinegars (malt or malt flavored)
  • Vitamin E oil

Resources, Information & Support

If you’re living with celiac, you know that constant vigilance is a must. Many gluten-free grains can be contaminated by being processed on the same machinery as a grain with gluten. Some over-the-counter and prescription medications can contain gluten – pills may be dusted with flour during manufacturing, for example. Even cosmetics aren’t above scrutiny: Toothpaste and lipstick can contain gluten!

Your best defense is to arm yourself with information. Talk to your doctor and learn more from these trusted sources:

And don’t forget, support is essential. Seek out a local celiac local support group (your doctor may be able to direct you to one).

Gluten-Free Recipes

Swedish Milletballs
Recipe Rating: 3.03444
Mixed Mushroom Soup
Recipe Rating: 3.12012
Recipe Rating: 3.13068

More Gluten Free Recipes