Dairy-Free Shopping Tips
If you avoid dairy, it isn’t always easy to spot – whey, casein and ghee are examples of dairy ingredients that some shoppers may not recognize. The good news is, if a food contains dairy, it’s required by the FDA to list “contains: milk” on the label, even on those less-than-recognizable ingredients. Advisory statements like “produced in a facility that also processes milk” are strictly voluntary. If you’re not sure, always contact the product manufacturer with any questions.
There are so many nondairy options! Here are a few items to look for in your local store:
- Nondairy milk (and coffee creamer!) alternatives made from soy, rice, coconut, almond, hemp and more – found in both the dairy section and grocery aisles
- Soy and coconut-based yogurt alternatives
- Nondairy cheese alternatives
- Coconut and almond-based frozen desserts
- Cheese-free frozen pizzas
Dairy-Free Cooking Tips
Skip the dairy but still add creaminess to foods with these tips:
- Silken tofu purée stands in for dairy in dressings and dips
- Soaked and puréed cashews add richness to soups and sauces
Here are a few of our favorite satisfying dairy-free recipes.