Gluten Free

Whether you’re eating gluten free because of celiac disease, a gluten sensitivity or by choice, it’s easier than ever to maintain a gluten-free lifestyle with the wealth of available gluten-free foods, information and support. Use this guide to learn more about:

Gluten-Free Recipes

Check out a few of our favorite flavorful gluten-free dishes. Search our recipe library for more gluten-free recipes for everyday meals, snacks and more.

So, What Does it Mean to Eat Gluten Free?

Gluten is the mixture of protein fragments, called peptide chains or polypeptides. Celiac disease is a chronic digestive disorder in which those who ingest gluten experience an immune response. There is no cure for celiac, though it can be managed by following a gluten-free diet. To learn about the causes, symptoms and diagnosis of celiac disease, talk to your doctor and check out trusted sources such as Celiac Disease Foundation and National Celiac Association.

There are also people who don’t have the disease but follow a gluten-free diet due to non-celiac gluten sensitivity, wheat allergy or by choice.

The best way to avoid gluten is to know where it hides. Watch for these primary sources of gluten:

  • Wheat (including semolina, durum, spelt, triticale and KAMUT® khorasan wheat)
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Oats (Oats don’t naturally contain gluten, but are often subject to contamination with small amounts of it. Look for packaged oats labeled gluten-free in our stores.)

Some unexpected items — such as soy sauce, vinegar and blue cheese — may contain gluten. The ingredients and additives on the list below can contain gluten. If you’re unsure, check the label or contact the manufacturer for detailed production information.

  • Binders
  • Blue cheese
  • Bouillon cubes and broths
  • Brown rice syrup (if barley malt enzyme is used)
  • Buckwheat flour and soba noodles (if combined with wheat)
  • Caramel coloring (made from barley malt enzymes)
  • Coatings
  • Colorings
  • Condiments
  • Dextrins
  • Dispersing agents (i.e., cellulose, citric acid)
  • Emulsifiers
  • Excipients (added to prescription medications to achieve desired consistency)
  • Extracts (in grain alcohol)
  • Fillers
  • Flavorings (in grain alcohol)
  • Flours, breads, cereals, crackers, pasta, sauces and condiments made with the primary gluten source grains or their derivatives
  • Grain alcohol (beer, ale, rye, scotch, bourbon, grain vodka)
  • Homeopathic remedies
  • Hydrolyzed protein, hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP), hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
  • Malt or malt flavoring (barley malt)
  • Miso
  • Modified starch, modified food starch (when derived from wheat)
  • Mono- and diglycerides (made using a wheat starch carrier)
  • Oils (wheat germ oil and any oil with gluten additives)
  • Preservatives
  • Soy sauce (when fermented using wheat)
  • Spices (if contain anticaking ingredients)
  • Starch (if primary source is gluten-containing grains)
  • Vegetable gum (when made from oats)
  • Vegetable protein
  • Vinegars (malt or malt flavored)
  • Vitamin E oil

Shopping for Gluten-Free Foods

If you’re living with celiac, you know that constant vigilance is a must. Be sure to read labels and check with the manufacturers if you have questions. Below are some tips to help you navigate shopping at our stores.

  • Each of our stores has an extensive selection of gluten-free products, so you can enjoy all the flavors you crave — without the gluten. Bonus: We’re always adding to our selection, so explore the store!
  • Shop for our GlutenFree Bakehouse® products in the freezer aisle and Bakery department. Yup, we’ve got our very own dedicated gluten-free facility, which provides products to our stores across the U.S. and Canada.
  • In place of traditional pasta, buy gluten-free pasta or look for vegetable-based alternatives from Veggie Noodles Co. (or make your own at home).
  • Suss out your supplements because some contain ingredient's derived from wheat.
  • Even cosmetics aren’t above scrutiny: Toothpaste and lipstick can contain gluten.

In addition, these products can make gluten-free cooking and on-the-go snacking easier:

  • Justin’s Nut Butters
  • Simple Mills Crackers
  • GoMacro MacroBars
  • Square Organics Protein Bars
  • Siete Tortillas (Almond Flour and Cassava & Coconut varieties)